A day at the races

Yesterday we managed to swap our day off and finally managed to get to the famous Nelson Markets!

IMG_8235

Up and out by 8am, weather was lovely and sunny, and I can see why the markets are so famous! All I can say is, I wish I had more money… I could have filled a house with all the amazing, handmade, locally sourced goodies on offer.

IMG_8233_2

We started it off with a yummy coffee from a Danish coffee stall and got fed the most amazing Danish Apple cake by the crazy owner 😀

IMG_8239
Recycled wine bottles!

IMG_8237 IMG_8236

So much of the stuff on offer was made from recycled materials, or produce grown locally, lovely to see.

IMG_8246IMG_8249

After a few hours wondering around we headed back to Motueka for the Easter North Vs South Island Drag race, my first event of this kind (that I can remember) and so much fun!! It was held at the airfield where they do all the skydiving, so we got to see a  few people fall out of the sky too 🙂

IMG_8257_2

There were so many different cars and bikes competing, with each race only lasting about 10 seconds, I didn’t expect to get so caught up in it, but found it really exhilarating!

IMG_8263     DCIM101GOPRO

The main event was definitely watching the actual drag cars going head to head, after a season that started in 2014, it all came down to this moment! Well, they actually raced a few times… I still don’t really understand, and sadly, I have no idea whether it was the North or South Island that won the day!

IMG_8302     IMG_8292

It was a fantastic day though, something I would definitely like to do again, maybe next time I will take ear defenders though… Very loud!!

Leave a Reply

